My Fragility 

Love made me foolish. 

Love made me kind.

Love made the world full,  yet empty.

Love made me bitter.

Love made me open my eyes.

And love, well, it made me broken.

Perhaps there was something else out there to fill this void.

Or just perhaps, the right one had yet to be found.

The one that could make me feel alive.

The one that could make me feel not alone in this world. 

But it seemed to be just a dream.

A far off dream that carried the sting of hope.

There had just been too much pain.

Life had only given me the bitter taste of sorrow and disappointment.

It would seem that love was not for me 

For the only love I have ever had was not returned. 

An unrequited love, how it made my soul burn.

 No longer could I take the pain. 

So I tried to move on.

 I started to give my heart to someone else.

But my heart was still not fully mine to give.

For it still belonged to another.

To the one who had stolen it completely long ago.

Closure seemed impossible.

How could I let him go? 

I want to let him go.

I want to be able to breathe again.

But love made me foolish.

Love made me kind.

Love made the world full, yet empty.

Love made me bitter.

Love made me open my eyes.  

And love, well, it made me broken. 

Broken inside.

Leave a Reply

